Skip to main content

4 Proud Boys, including leader, convicted of seditious conspiracy over Jan. 6

May 04, 2023


Media Landscape

MediaMiss™This story is a Media Miss by the right as only 16% of the coverage is from right leaning media.

Learn more about this data

Left 33%

Center 51%

Right 16%

Bias Distribution Powered by Ground News

Former Proud Boys leader Enrique Tarrio was among four members of the group convicted of seditious conspiracy on Thursday, May 4. The charges were related to a plot to attack the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021.

Tarrio was also convicted of obstructing Congress’ certification of President Joe Biden’s electoral victory and obstructing law enforcement as well as two other conspiracy charges.

He was acquitted of an assault charge stemming from a co-defendant who stole an officer’s riot shield. The other three Proud Boys of seditious conspiracy include:

  • Ethan Nordean.
  • Joseph Biggs.
  • Zachary Rehl.

As of noon EST Thursday, jurors had not reached a unanimous verdict on the sedition charge for fifth defendant, Dominic Pezzola. The judge told them to keep deliberating into the afternoon.

Thursday’s convictions represent another victory in what has become the largest Justice Department investigation in American history. The department has now secured seditious conspiracy convictions against the leaders of two major extremist groups, after Oath Keepers founder Stewart Rhodes was found guilty in November 2022.

Before two Oath Keepers trials in 2022 and 2023, the department hadn’t tried a seditious conspiracy case in a decade. Six Oath Keepers were convicted in total. The department has yet to disclose how much prison time it will seek when the Oath Keepers are sentenced in June.

Tags: , , , , , ,