Skip to main content

Unbiased. Straight Facts.TM

Tech

Google to delete inactive accounts starting Dec. 1; what you can do

Nov 28, 2023

Share

Google has announced that it is purging all inactive accounts beginning on Dec. 1. This means photos, calendar reminders, emails and Google documents will be deleted. So, if you want to save your family photos stored on your Google Drive, make sure you log into your account and then take action.

If you have signed into your account within the last two years, Google said your account is considered active and will not be deleted. If you have not been in your account within that time, here is a list of ways to avoid having your inactive account deleted:

  • Reading or sending an email
  • Using Google Drive
  • Watching a YouTube video
  • Sharing a photo
  • Downloading an app
  • Using Google Search
  • Using Sign in with Google to sign in to a third-party app or service

Google defines an inactive account as one that has not been used in two years. The company added that it does not have plans to delete accounts that have YouTube videos when the account policy goes into effect.

This applies only to personal accounts; Google’s updated policy does not affect accounts set up through work, school, or other organizations. Google said this move is to protect account holder’s privacy.

“Today’s update helps us continue our advancements in account security, and helps reinforce our commitment to keep your private information private,” the policy read.

If you have an account that falls into this category, Google will notify you before it gets deleted. Google is also urging everyone with an account to have a backup plan, provide a recovery email and make sure that recovery email is up to date in your account settings.

Tags: , ,

IF YOU ARE ONE OF THE MORE THAN 1-BILLION GOOGLE ACCOUNT HOLDERS IN THE WORLD – YOU MAY WANT TO TAKE A LISTEN.

GOOGLE HAS ANNOUNCED THAT IT IS PURGING ALL INACTIVE ACCOUNTS BEGINNING DECEMBER 1ST.

THIS MEANS PHOTOS, CALENDAR REMINDERS, E-MAILS, AND GOOGLE DOCUMENTS WILL BE DELETED.

SO IF YOU WANT TO SAVE YOUR FAMILY PHOTOS MAKE SURE YOU LOG INTO YOUR ACCOUNT AND READ THROUGH SOME EMAILS, WATCH A YOUTUBE VIDEO, SHARE A PHOTO, OR DOWNLOAD AN APP BEFORE THE COMPANY IMPLEMENTS ITS NEW POLICY.

GOOGLE DEFINES AN INACTIVE ACCOUNT AS ONE THAT HAS NOT BEEN USED IN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD.

THIS APPLIES ONLY TO PERSONAL ACCOUNTS –

GOOGLE’S UPDATED POLICY DOES NOT AFFECT ANY ACCOUNTS SET UP THROUGH WORK,  SCHOOL, OR OTHER ORGANIZATIONS.

GOOGLE SAYS THIS MOVE IS TO PROTECT ACCOUNT HOLDERS PRIVACY.

AND IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT THAT FALLS INTO THIS CATEGORY — GOOGLE WILL SEND YOU A NOTIFICATION BEFORE IT GETS DELETED.